Call for Papers


Main GTSE 2013 Page       Call for Papers       Technical Program

GTSE 2013

2nd Semat Workshop on a General Theory of Software Engineering

SEMAT – Software Engineering Method and Theory

Sunday May 26, 2013, San Francisco, USA

In conjunction with

ACM/IEEE Intl. Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE 2013)

ICSE 2013


GTSE 2013 pdf CfP

Software engineering is becoming more and more mature as an academic discipline. Its fundamental concepts are better identified and defined and its underlying methods are better understood. Despite this, few software engineering theories have been proposed, and none of them have achieved significant recognition so far.

GTSE 2013 aims at providing a forum for discussing the concept of a general theory in software engineering. The goal is to launch a scientific process of proposing, generating, criticizing and testing general theories of software engineering, and thereby, lead the software engineering discipline towards a more mature theoretical state. The workshop solicits submissions in the following non-exclusive topics (for  brief introduction see here):

  • How can a general theory of software engineering be of practical use?

  • What are the objectives of such a theory?

  • What questions should it address?

  • What is a useful definition of theory?

  • How foundational/universal should a general theory of software engineering be?

  • What should its main concepts be? Should it be expressed formally? If formalized, what is a suitable language?

To allow submissions of both developed research and of early ideas, GTSE 2013 solicits two categories of papers: (1) 10-page research papers and (2) 4-page position papers. All accepted papers will be published in the ACM / IEEE CS Digital Library . They must follow ICSE formatting guidelines:, and they should be submitted to the workshop's EasyChair site: . When submitting the paper, please indicate in the subtitle to which of the categories you are submitting (short position paper versus long research papers).

Important Dates

  • Submission of papers: 7 February 2013

  • Notification of acceptance: 28 February 2013

  • Camera Ready: 7 March 2013

  • Workshop:  26 May 2013

Workshop Organizers 

Pontus Johnson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Ivar Jacobson, Ivar Jacobson International, Switzerland

Mira Kajko-Mattsson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Michael Goedicke, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Program Committee

Joao Paulo Almeida , F. Uni. E.S., Brazil
Mikio Aoyama , Nanzan University, Japan
Colin Atkinson , U. of Mannheim, Germany
Doo-Hwan Bae , Division of Computer Science, EECS KAIST, South Korea
Jongmoon Baik, School of Engineering at Information and Communications University South Korea
Luciano Baresi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Reda Bendraou , Paris Universitas, France
Arne Berre , SINTEF, Norway
Ilia Bider , Stockholm University, Sweden
Christian Bird , Microsoft Research
Dines Bjørner , DTU Denmark
Jürgen Börstler , Blekinge Institute of Technology Sweden
Anthony Cleve , University of Namur Belgium
Ivica Crnkovic , Mälardalen University Sweden
Mathias Ekstedt , KTH Sweden
Gregor Engels, U Paderborn Germany
Iaakov Exman , Jerusalem C. of Eng. Israel
Anthony Finkelstein ,U. College London, UK
Ian Gorton , Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
John Grundy , U. Swinburn, Australia
Robert Hall, AT&T Research USA
Shihong Huang , Florida Atlantic U. USA
Stefan Jähnichen , TU Berlin, Germany
Tomasz Janowski , UNU-IIST Center for Electronic Governance, Macau
Capers Jones , Capers Jones & Assoc. USA
Howell Jordan , UC Dublin Ireland
Ekkart Kindler , DTU Denmark
Philippe Kruchten , U. of BC Canada
Harold Lawson , Lawson Konsult Sweden
Cristina Marinescu , University Politechnica of Timisoara
Florian Matthes , TU Munich, Germany
Tim Menzies , Lane Department of Computer Science, WVU, WV
Ana Milanova, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Hausi Müller, University of Victoria Canada
Jaana Nyfjord , Swedish ICT SICS
Tero Päivärinta , Luleå U. of Tech. Sweden
June Sung Park , Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Dewayne E. Perry, U Texas at Austin USA
Paul Ralph , Lancaster University UK
Karl Reed , La Trobe University Australia
Motoshi Saeki , Tokyo Institute of Technology Japan
Kassem Saleh , Kuwait University,
Stanley M. Sutton Jr. , IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Scott Tilley , Florida Institute of Technology
Mikko Tiusanen , Tampere U. of T. Finland
Aaron Visaggio, University of Sannio Italy
Willem Visser, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
Hongyu Zhang , School of Software, Tsinghua University, China